We would like to acknowledge that we are producing and publishing content on the occupied, unceded, traditional, and ancestral territories of the Coast Salish peoples, specifically the sḵwx̱wú7mesh (Squamish), sel̓íl̓witulh (Tsleil-Waututh), and xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam) nations.

UBC Vancouver sits on the occupied ancestral homelands of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm people. As uninvited guests studying on these lands, we participate in the ongoing dispossession of Indigenous lands and people, and we benefit from their resources. In carrying out our work we hope to give back to the communities to which we are all connected through the knowledge and ways of knowing of our diverse histories.

To learn more, please visit indigenousfoundations.arts.ubc.ca.

Our mandate and structure

The Talon is operated by a horizontally-structured editorial collective of current students at the University of British Columbia. The Talon was established in the summer of 2014 to fill the void of critical, independent student media within the UBC context. Though the various members of the editorial collective have different interests and experiences, we are all dedicated to anti-oppression organizing and passionate about social change. We also firmly believe that there is no such thing as true ‘journalistic objectivity’ – any publications claiming to lack an ideology are tacitly endorsing the status quo. Through The Talon, we aim to stimulate discussion centred on social justice and offer an accessible, critical perspective on issues affecting UBC students. You can read our Statement of Intent here.

We would like to thank The Mainlander for the support and guidance they provided to us at the outset of this project.

The Talon Editorial Collective 2015/16 consists of the following individuals:

Eviatar Bach, Afie Bo, Jordan Buffie, Mary Chen, Kelly Cubbon, Sol Diana, Blessing Falayi, Bára Hladíková, K. Ho, Anne Kessler, Sarah King, Marlee Laval, Ivan Leonce, Zehra Naqvi, and Jane Shi

The Talon Editorial Collective 2014/15 consisted of the following individuals: Eviatar Bach, Cicely Blain, Jordan Buffie, Justin Choi, Evelyn Cranston, Cecily Downs, Josh Gabert-Doyon, K Ho, Urooba Jamal, Sarah King, Alex Mierke-Zatwarnicki, Maneo Mohale, Jane Shi, Simón Velez, Matthew Ward, and Justin Wiebe.

This website was designed by Cecily Downs.

Contact us

As we strive to be an anti-oppressive and responsive organization, we welcome any feedback you may have, including call-outs, concerns, critiques, questions and suggestions.

For general enquiries, we can be reached by e-mail at talonubc@gmail.com. If you would like to learn more about participation opportunities and submission guidelines, please visit our submissions page. While we try to reply to e-mails as quickly as possible, we are all busy students and we do receive a high volume of enquiries about The Talon. Thanks in advance for your patience!

Follow us on Twitter: @TalonUBC.

Like us on Facebook.